Acharya Logo: Depicting a Heritage Site
Home -->  Linguistics  --> Indian Language Scripts   -->  Displayed Script

  This page presents the details of the scripts of the different languages of the country. As seen earlier, the languages of India are phonetic in nature and hence the writing system for any language maps the sounds of the aksharas to specific shapes. The basic set of aksharas for most languages consist of sixteen vowels and about forty consonants. These are shown in the illustration below. For reference, the aksharas are shown along with the equivalent Roman Diacritic representations. The actual rules for forming consonant vowel combinations and conjunct characters vary from script to script.

   Additional information about the script is given following the image.

Script shown: Sinhala

  Some additional information about the script including the methods adopted in the writing system for the script may be seen below. Aspects of the writing system specific to the script will also be indicated. The reader my benefit from looking at the pages discussing the aspects of writing systems followed for Indian languages for a generic view of syllabic writing systems.

The Sinhala script applies to the language spoken in SriLanka. Sinhala is essentially like Sanskrit in respect of phonetic structure. Modern Sinhala has included a few additional aksharas into the script to handle a special "a" (as in name) and some Tamil letters.

Please use the "Back" button of your browser to return to the previous page

Please follow the links below for details of other scripts.









Ancient scripts



Related scripts



Heritage Logo
The Logo on this page shows a view of the Nandadevi National park, a UN heritage site in India.

Today is
Jul. 23, 2024

| Home |
 Last updated on  Aug. 16, 2020   Best viewed at 800x600 or better